In Training

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 10.58.17 AM

5/30/2016 “Minha nossa! (My goodness!)”

WHOA I’M A MISSIONARY GUYS IT’S KINDA CRAZY.

ENTÃO.
EU. NÃO. FALOU. PORTUGÛES.
So the first day was reeeaaall long but it was still good. I traveled with one other Brazilian Sister and Elder Carson (from AZ) from the CTM to Curitiba and that´s when it began: ONLY PORTUGUES. I just followed whatever people were gesturing for me to do. It´s pretty much how I´ve survived this week haha…
So my first area isn´t the main city of Curitiba. In Brazil they always have a main city (Curitiba) and what they call Enteriors (<–spelling?) (smaller cities surrounding the main city).
And so I´m in Mafra! With my companion Sister Quiñones! She´s from Chile and only has 12 more weeks of the mission–which is the length of my training. Então, she´s my first companion and I´m her last! And so the first day we and two other Sisters (One from Natal(which means Christmas!) Brazil and the other from Chile as well) traveled to Mafra via onibus. The busing system here is crazy high-tech and awweessooommeee its so exciting! Anyways. We arrived at our casa and ewwww. Elders lived there before and it was so so so disgusting. We got there at about 9pm and were cleaning until 12:30 and when we woke up in the morning we cleaned some more. Oh it was gross. ELDERS. POR FAVOR. But I guess we can forgive them because they left food–even though some of it was old and smelled like canned dog food and all that. And so its the four of us Sisters here. Me and Sister Quinones cover Mafra and the other Sisters cover another area across the way called Rio Negro.
And so we´ve been contacting a lot. There´s only a small branch here–Uma Ramo. And I really don´t understand what´s going on the vast majority of the time so I just do whatever my companion does and so I don´t really know the members very well because I don´t understand what they´re saying…. but from what I can tell the members are so great! A lot of them are converts. The Presidente de Ramo and his family are wonderful. We´ve had almoço (lunch) with them a couple times–because we don´t have dinner appointments. Almoço is the biggest meal of the day and so that´s pretty much the greatest, I think. We´ve had almoço with members almost every day since we´ve arrived so that´s really fun. They have a thing for gelatin desserts…ew…but that´s ok because they also have fruit and creme as desert! Fruit for dessert guys. Its so good. AH LOVE IT.
Also we´ve been doing a lot of contacting–via clapping in front of people´s houses and having their dogs run out to the gate (everyone has a gate with a lock on it) and bark at us. And depending on the street people let us in and we teach the first lesson and etc… But yeah. My companion speaks NO english so I guess that´s a good way to learn Portugues. Also she´s pretty much the Chilean version of Mary Poppins haha I LOVE HER. And I´m learning A LOT from her because she makes me do EVERYTHING I absolutely DO NOT want to do– I don´t speak any Portugues and she makes me teach lessons and invite people to be baptised and all that stuff.She´ll be talking during a lesson and then look at me like “Ok you´d better say something because I´m not saying a word.“ Uhhh…. there have been a lot of awkward silences. She literally just sits there WAITING. AH. But its good because I hope that helps me learn faster…or I´ll just be the cause of the apostasy of every Brazilian I try to teach…There was one lesson my companion just sat there staring at me and it was so rough.The lady was super nicebut it was still so rough. And so when we finally got out to the street again I just broke down. And my companion doesn´t speak English and I don´t speak Portugues and so I could´t explain anything and she was just frustrated because I didn’t talk very much during the lesson and it was so bad. But we had to keep going because we couldn’t just stand there while I was having a break down so we went to the next house and clapped and someone came out and she made me talk to that person too. GAH. And as we continued I pulled it together but it was so rough. I was just like “Oh my goodness whyyyy do people do this mission thing??? I don´t know if I´ll ever learn the language or if I´ll end up doing any good here or if people will love me or just judge me cause I´m a spoiled american or just what even??“ But then I kept thinking and praying and I realized that that´s what faith is. Faith is NOT KNOWING what will happen or what the purpose is or if you will fail or succeed or if this is right or wrong or if people will love or hate you for what you´re doing but MOVING FORWARD ANYWAY trusting that the Atonement has made up for whatever you have done, are doing, or will do wrong. Also, I remembered the Elder from our stake who what from Tonga who was learning English. And everyone loved him not for his English, but just for who he was. And I remembered a RM Sister I met once at institute who served in Brazil who said she learned to language,but she also said there are other ways you can communicate while you´re learning Portugues. And so that brought me a lot of peace.
And so, this week I´ve been learning about faith. And also how to be positive while doing it. Its all ok and I dont have to be stressed or overwhelmed or unhappy because Christ already suffered all that. And this is HIS work, not mine. Isaiah 5:3-5
I love you all!
Sister Cox
 DSCN0053[1]
6/13/2016 “Morte-valdo”
Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 11.34.52 AM

Oi tudo bem?!

Então this week was kinda crazy…
So Curitiba is really cold and wet. And it has a bad effect on the people so its hard to find investigators…é triste. But we do have this one investigator. Ohhhh man we visited her this week and it was a very interesting experience. Just a little background, Luzinete is Jehova´s witness (Everyone here in the city has their religion. Its terrible.) and she saw the Sisters walking down the street one time and told them ´´Hey! You´re the Mormons right? I want to learn more about your religion but you know I´m not going to join ok?´´ Oh. Challenge accepted.
So this is what happened: We showed up to Luzinete´s house (and a lot of houses here are really two houses behind the same gate so neighbors are really family…something like that? I don´t even know) and her neighbor had fallen. He was an old guy and so when we got there everyone was kind of in a panic because he was just laying on the ground and his arm was bleeding. Luzinete was just told us to go wait in her front room. Her neighbor was ok (I think…?) and so she came back in with her husband and was like ´´Ta bom. Pode comencar.´´ (´´Ok. You can start.´´) We do all the convites (invitations) like starting lessons with a prayer and all that but she doesn´t ever let us and she doesn´t ever want to pray or read what we invite her to read but you´ll see why in a second— So I don´t speak a whole lot of Português very well but I can understand pretty much everything. And so Sister Calevoso does a lot of the teaching. And for this particular lesson we were teaching about the Book of Mormon. And Sister Calevoso went alllll Isaiah and Bible on this lady it was craaazzyyy and you could just see Luzinete totally understood everything and you could just see in her face she felt in her mind and heart the Book of Mormon is true. And so we invited her to read and pray about the Book of Mormon. But she said (more hesitantly than usual but still) ´´Not now…maybe later´´ We think she is scared to pray because she knows that God will answer and she´s afraid He will answer ´´Yes.´´ She´s afraid of change. But she doesn´t have to be, because Christ and Heavenly Father and the Spirit will be there every step of the way. The Gospel isn´t something God has given us to weigh us down–its meant to make you life the happiest it can be. I just wish I could communicate that to her–in Portuguese… Mas, tudo bem.
So here´s the funny part. So we ended the lesson and Luzinete´s husband had just been sitting there listening the whole time–and then Sister Calevoso went to the bathroom and so I was just talking to Luzinete and her husband and her husband started saying stuff like “Where are you from? Estados Unidos! Nossa! You speak so well! Your practically Brazilian! Your hair is so beautiful! Nossa!´´ and then he started talking to S. Calevoso when she came back in and her family is from Argentina but she was born in Miami and speaks spanish, english and portuguese with NO accent and so this guy started getting really really excited and talking her to about how amazing she is and accents and nossa! And then is was just all down-hill from there– and I realized more clearly this man wasn´t actually ´´all there´´ (if ya know what I mean)– he just talked faster and faster and more excitedly and then we got up to try and leave and we went to shake his hand (this whole time he just kept talking very excitedly) and he wouldn´t let go of my hand as he was talking to Sister Calevoso and she´s trying to help us get out of there and long story short he gave us both a kiss on the cheek and a hug before we could get out. AHH we were dying laughing when we finally got out to the street IT WAS HILARIOUS WE ARE SUCH FUBECAS IT WAS CRAZY AHHH. And so, it turns out, that this man is 82 years old, his mind isn´t all there, he´s only been married to Luzinete for 3 years, and she´s his third wife…uh, what?
Brazil man…Brazil.
So yes. So also, this week was transfers and since we´re super close to the mission home, we had 4 other sisters staying with us in our little apartment and so it was definitely a party. Im staying in Curitiba with Sister Calevoso to finish training and hopefully learn more Portuguese (woot woot!)
So that´s all I´ve got for you people this week. I hope you´re all enjoying the sun because its UH. COLD down here.
Love you all!
Sister Cox
Photos:
1. Mission tour last week with Presidente Callister
2. Transfer party at our apartment

DSCN4787DSCN0108[1]

 

6/20/2016 “Yur Mom”

Good news! The shift key works this week!

So I got to shake hands with Elder Holland. AH! That was THE coolest. I dont even know how to describe the experience well enough. Its Elder Holland, so naturally it was an Elder Holland talk that we got. And all of the Americans were really excited to hear him but, no joke, we thought maybe we would still have to use headphones to hear a translation from Portugues to English because we thought maybe he would receive a huge outpour of the Gift of Tongues and say everything in Portugues. And he had us going for a second when he started his talk ´Bon dia…´ then he continued ´Bem vinda. Parabens. Guarana…´and a few other words I cant remember and then he stopped and said ´thats about all I know in Portugues so I think I should just stick to English´ We were relieved! And it was amazing. He talked about how we need to be ´champion´missionaries. He related it to swimming a race– when we all start out, we start together and excited and fresh and everyone looks like a champion. But God hasnt called us to BEGIN His work. He´s called us to finish it. And so we only really know who the real champions are at the END. If at the end you´re still working hard and going strong. He said this is the key to be a champion ´Kick when you dont want to kick. And stroke when you dont want to stroke.´ Doesnt that sound just like Elder Holland?? There was a whole bunch of other amazing stuff and it was a wonderful and enriching experience. Now just to apply it…
Also. We went proselyting this week! It was our second round! The first time was during our second week or something like that and it was way rough but still a good experience. So THIS time was so much different. The purpose is to place Book of Mormons and get contacts for other missionaries in the area. So we were walking around and, trying to follow the Spírit, I initiated a conversation with this sweet old lady in a park in downtown Sao Paulo and she said her name was Beatriz. AH. First of all I had to tell her how much I loved her name because Im a fan of Beatrix Potter and Peter Rabbit and allllll those homies. So yeah. Then we started getting to know her and teaching her a little about the gospel and she just started pouring out her heart and there were tears. From what I understood she had been having heart problems for a couple of months and she just felt so sad and so confused at everyone preaching goodwill (she had some catholic background and at first didnt want to take the Book of Mormon we were trying to give her) and yet she felt so alone and confused. And so I got to tell her about how there was a boy named Joseph Smith who felt the same way. And Im not entirely sure I was understanding her correctly or if I even said the right words cause at this point I cant really remember how we got the the end result which was SMILES, Beatriz saying over and over “Obrigada, obrigada, obrigada”, hugs, she said she was going to read the Book of Mormon and wanted to meet with our missionaries and gave us her contact information. I loved her. She was the sweetest. I hope the missionaries find her.
Also, our instructor Irmao Valente told us we were going to be here for an additional 6 weeks because there were too many missionaries arriving in the field at a time and so we were going to just go through the same material and same schedule we´ve had for the 6 weeks we´ve been here.
And I totally believed him.
And I was the ONLY ONE.
DUMMBBB.
It was totally a joke and he had other instructors in on it so I totally fell for it and I was just like ”HOW AM I GOING TO DO ANOTHER 6 WEEKS OF CTM??” OH man it was so embarrassing they totally had me going there.
AND THEN one of the Elders had to do this really really freaky GOLEM impersonation TO ME that was so scary I thought I was going to die. It was so  scary just believe me please.
Also I used a ”Yur mom” joke for the first time in 5 weeks. Someone was doing a lesson plan and said ”No way I have I way better scripture” and then it just came out I couldnt hold it back ”Your mom is a better scripture.”
It was hilarious just trust me. Ive been trying so so so hard not to use those jokes. Its ok I repented for that one I wont do it anymore. I love you mom!
Next email you get I will probably get to send pictures finally and I´ll be in CURITIBA!!
I love you all!! Have a wonderful week!
Love, Sister Cox

 

View More: http://shannonbowphoto.pass.us/coxfamily

6/27/2016 “Girias (Slangs)”

Hello my people!

I have no time but here´s a little peak at how my Português is going:
We were walking down the street knocking/clapping in front of doors and this house had a pretty yard (I´ve been trying to just practice phrases to my companion and she corrects me) and so this is how the dialogue went down–
Me: ´´Como se diz `yard`?´´
S. Calevoso: “Yard?? Sei la“
Me: “Esta terra aqui? Eu gosto desta terra aqui.“
Ohhhhhh it was hilarious you people just don´t understand we´ve been lauging about it all week long hahahaha
Sister Calevoso has been teaching me A LOT of slang and I don´t understand perfectly was everything really means and so the other day at district meeting I said ´´Ahh, que legal!´´ (English: ´´Oh cool!´´) to President Fernandes and his eyes just got really big it kind of shocked him. Oops. Haha.
But hey this week we get a new president!!! I´m sad President Fernandes and Sister Fernandes and their family will be leaving because they have really truly blessed my life, even in the short 5 weeks I´ve been here. But I´m super super excited to meet our new president! woot woot!
That´s all I´ve got for you all! I love you and hope you all have a WONDERFUL week!
Love,
Sister Cox
pictures: study area and minha companhiera

7/4/2016 “Tem que rir pra não chorar!”

 

So this week was really hard but also really great!

Here were some ´´highs´´ this week:
-I ate baked chicken and rice with bananas on top. Bananas for daaayysss guys! Its the greatest!
-People here light fireworks every night–but Sister Calevoso says that people here use kites and fireworks (not at the same time) to signal that the drugs are in #childhoodcrushed
-We got kissed on the cheek by a drunk man (more on that in a minute)
-We have an investigator with a baptismal date! Woo hoo!
-NEW PRESIDENTE Ê DO ROCHA ATÉ Ó PÓ!! He´s SO rad I can´t even handle it.
Anyways, so let me tell you a little about this drunk man and our investigator–
We were knocking/clapping doors and this cute old lady let us in and we sat down and were talking to her when her grandson, Bruno, walked in. The grandma was catholic and so wasn´t entirely interested but Bruno stayed and listened and said he would pray about Joseph Smith and all that good stuff 🙂 So then we went to follow-up real quick with Bruno and we just talked to him outside his front gate because we were on our way to another appointment–and he said he recieved an answer and he just felt so much weight lift in his heart. He´s just so good!
 BUT THEN his uncle shows up and this guy was drunk off. his. rocker. And Sister Calevoso is really good at keeping her cool–and I´m sooo not. And so he´s going on about things like ´´OH. You´re missionaries? Well, you see, I´m catholic–and I have a VERY strong belief in God..etc´´ and then things like, ´´Oi vocês estão muito lindas!´´ and compliments and that–but this guy is drunk até ó pó (the literal translation is ´´until the dust´´ but its the equivalent of the American slang ´´like nobody´s business´´). And so Bruno is just super duper sweet–and he was sooo embarrassed and this crazy uncle and S. Calevoso was just handling it so well that the whole situation was just HILARIOUS and so I was trying SO hard not to laugh–but is ok Bruno was trying not to laugh too, so no one was offended but still it was so bad.And so Bruno´s uncle eventually left but right before he just went for it and kissed S. Calevoso on the cheek and then me too and I was like `´What in the world?! AGAIN?!´´ Oh it was so bad but oh so funny…But wait, it gets better—
And so we went back to teach Bruno about the LDM (Livro de Mórmon) and S. Calevoso at the very beginning said ´´We can´t teach it today–it doesn´t feel right´´. Tudo bem. It was revelation because while we were talking to Bruno about the pamphlet his uncle shows up AGAIN even more drunk than the last time and sits down right next to Sister Calevoso and starts talking and complimenting and was like ´´What do you think of my life?? I´m a drunk, I smoke, I´m a sinner´´ And S. Calevoso responds `´Well, you have your agency and its your life`´ and o chiu do Bruno (Bruno´s uncle) responds `´Nossa. Você esta MUITO inteligente!´´ You guys—I LOST IT. I actually started laughing and was trying so hard to hold it back but I COULDN´T and Bruno was just dying too and it was a MESS. When we went to leave, we said a prayer but during the prayer the uncle took S. Calevoso´s hand and right when we went to get up he started leaning over to kiss her on the cheek and she´s like ´´Não pode não pode não pode!!´´ BOOM. Too late. Then he tried to kiss me on the cheek but I was ready and so I fended him off alright.
You guys it was just toooooo funny and we were DYIIINNNGGGG
I´m out of time but just so you know the next lesson with Bruno was SO good because his uncle was sober and Bruno is super receptive to the Spirit and accepted to be baptised 23 de Julho! Woo hoo! We are excited!
Also we´re planning an atividade with our ward to train the members how to be member missionaries! Curitiba is actually a very very European city, and so the people here are not like the rest of Brazil in their super open, crazy, warm, party personality. And so we´re trying to work through the members here in our area.
This week the sun came out too! It was so wonderful. So many blessings.
Also this week I learned a lot about how to laugh about things that are completely out of your control. There are things I could (and have) become really preoccupied and worried and stressed over that are really something I can´t change–like mission rules, trying to learn Português, really awful lessons, etc But really, Satan tries to use those things to take away your happiness. Sometimes you just have to let it go. My companion told me after the incident with Bruno´s uncle–´´Tem que rir pra não chorar´´ which is ´´Take a laugh to not cry´´ Men are that they might have joy. So Heavenly Father taught me this week: Let go of things you can´t control. Do your best, and the Atonement will take care of the rest–the Atonement is something that allows us to laugh and have JOY. Everyday.
I love you all! Remember: Tem que rir pra não chorar!
Sister Cox
picture: our window every morning 🙂
DSCN0141[1]
7/11/2016 “Food Poisoning”

Hello family!

So, first, every week when I use Portuguese words in my email, the following week I figure out that I spell the words wrong so I just need to stop haha
So last P-day Sister Calevoso and I went to the sister´s apartment in another area for 4th of July! We made American food and it was super fun. I should have taken a picture but I forgot 😦 But hey, pizza, french fries, chicken nuggets and cake and ice cream. It was beautiful.
This week my poor companion got food poisoning. She already says all the time she feels like her physical well-being is on the decline because she´s at the end of her mission, so the food poison didn´t help too much. We had gone to a buffet-style restaurant for lunch (they have a lot of those here)
with a member, and later that day S. Calevosoasked for a blessing for health from our ward mission leader (not anticipating the food poisoning reaction–just for overall health) That night she was vomiting aaallll night long and so we had to stay home the next two days. It was so sad…She stayed in bed and I did lots of reading and writing in my journal. So that part was good 🙂 And my companion is doing A LOT better now! woot woot! Yesterday was our first full day in the street since she got better and it was really good.
 I didn´t get any food poisoning at all. Bênçãos. Sister Calevoso thinks it was the chicken she ate because I didn´t eat any chicken. In fact, I didn´t really know what I was doing and was just trying to get my food and get out of there as fast as I could–so I ended up grabbing this really sketchy-looking hamburger thing…But no food poisoning! Então tudo bem!
We went to visit Bruno yesterday because he didn´t come to church this Sunday or last Sunday (BUT we´re really pushing for this coming Sunday! We hope we hope we hope because he´s soooo gooooooooood!) and we showed up right as his uncle was leaving…to go to the bar…haha And he tried to kiss us again but its ok–I´m going to be a pro at fending off drunk men from kissing me by the end of my mission haha. Bruno was super repentant about not coming to church. Oh my goodness he felt so bad. So maybe he will come next week. We hope!
And then we went to visit our recent-convert and SUPRISE! His daughters were there too!! He´s divorced and so his daughters don´t live with him and he hasn´t seen them for a looonnggg time– But yesterday they were there!! And they´re so so so darling and I love them. One is 3 and the other is 8. It was such a beautiful experience to see him and his daughters together—and it kind of hit me that this is what the Gospel is for. To help our families be the happiest they can be. Because, a family without the Gospel can be pretty happy–REALLY happy, because families are naturally ordained of God. But when you give a family the Gospel to live by, that family can become ETERNALLY happy. And its the greatest thing EVER.
I love you all! And I hope you all have a super fantastic week!
Sister Cox
picture: I just thought I would introduce you to Nascau–chocolate milk/hot chocolate mix that I pretty much depend on every day of my life here. And everyone here in Gralha Azul (our area) drinks it. #ilikebrasil
DSCN0148[1]
Pictures: My district in front of the São Paulo temple, my comp. for divisions from Cabo Verde (in pink), the view from our dorm window was beautiful at night (just imagine it), my comp for divisions from Curitiba (in blue) and my roommates for the second half of our CTM experience!! Woot woot!

 

7/18/2016 “Vocês estão importantes!”

Hello my people!

So this week we had our district meeting and we did a scripture-mastery scripture-chase. Meu gente, it was really intense. I thought scripture mastery games in seminary could get pretty crazy–but then I came to Brazil and did one with the missionaries. Whoooaaaaa it was super hilarious! Scripture masteries in Portuguese–its my new project.
This Saturday we did a training with the members in our ward about how to be a member-missionary. Not a whole lot of people came, but it was still super awesome! I got to compare the gospel to scorpion hunting. Woo hoo! But seriously, we have really awesome leaders here. Our Bishop and ward mission leader are super involved and willing to help with anything.
Not a whoolllee lot happened this week–appointments fell through and no one likes to let us in when we knock doors…these German descendants are killing us haha Its like that ´´Hello´´ missionary remix. Literally. We were out with our Ward mission leader knocking doors and he started singing it in the street haha Oh Irmão
My poor companion keeps getting stomach pains and pretty much pain all over so our schedule gets pretty messed up some days. I haven´t really had a problem with anything…yet…? Poor thing 😦
So just a little something I learned while we were preparing for our activity this week– WE NEED THE MEMBERS. Missionaries can´t do this work alone. We need members to love and help our investigators and recent-converts and less-actives just as much as the missionaries and ultimately love them like Heavenly Father and Christ would. Members are IMPORTANT.
I love you all! Hope you all have a wonderful week! Read the Book of Mormon and invite your friends to church!
Love,
Sister Cox
FSCN0167[1]
7/25/2016 “Oi gente!”
This week was SO full and SO awesome.
On Tuesday we had a Zone Conference and got to know our President a little more! He changed a few rules that made us all super excited: We can listen to FSY music every day in the morning and at night (before we could only listen to MoTab in the mornings and FSY music on P-day). As a Zone we can go to the temple to do a session once per transfer (WOO HOO!!!) and also we can do more Zone activities (I don´t know what the rule was before…) President didn´t change the rule that we can´t drink Coke and so everyone is all bumbed out about that haha But he´s the best guys. We all love him!
But yes. So after Zone Conference we had divisions–and so I was with Sister Costa for a couple days in another area! Sister Costa is from northern Brazil and she´s literally one of my favorite people on earth now. We stayed SUPER busy in her area. The same day as the conference we had lessons until it was time to go home. The next day we didn´t have a lunch appointment and so we got pizza (one for lunch and we kept the other one for later…) and then we were out allll day teaching with one of the ward missionaries here. She was super awesome too! She just recently returned from her mission and so she could have been wearing a nametag totally passed as a misssionary (haha actually a lot of people could probably do that) When we got home that night we pretty much had a party (after planning and everything) and ate pizza and listened to music and it was so fun! Don´t worry, we went to bed on time :)By the end of divisions we were like, ´´Lets just be companions ok??´´ I don´t even have words haha But it was so awesome! And I learned A LOT. It was such a great experience.
We also had an activity in another area working with the youth doing contacts and getting referrals–It was super crazy! By the end of the activity, the sisters in that area had 107 referrals! S. Calevoso wants to do that in our area now haha And after the activity we had Brazilian BBQ and it was so fun!
AND we had a Zone Activity TODAY for P-day and it was so fun! We played frisbee, basketball, ping-pong and ate food. Need I say more?
So all-in-all this week was amazing. The language is coming along still 🙂
I also learned that more than Heavenly Father wants me to be a perfect missionary, He wants me to be a happy missionary.
I love you all!
Sister Cox
pictures: Zone activity and divisions with S. Costa

 

8/1/2016 “I forgot a title last week lol.”

 

Holá!

Another week in Brazil eating lots of rice and beans and meat and bananas woot woot! We also got a lot of referrals this week and so that´s always a good thing 🙂
O my goodness so I´ve been in training for the last two and a half months and my training is almost over! Its like, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel haha kidding kidding (but really). So this next week is transfers and I don´t know if I´ll be staying here in Gralha Azul with Sister Calevoso (she´ll be leaving in the middle of this next transfer whoa she´s so excited to return to Miami!) or if I´ll be sent to another area. We´ll see! I´m excited either way 🙂
But hey, just a highlight from this week: Yesterday I walked into church and one of the Irmãs came up to me and took my arm and started walking me up to the pulpit saying ´´You play piano right? Will you play for us today for sacrament meeting?“ And I´m like “…Um yeah but I don´t know all the hymns“, meanwhile in my brain I´m like,OH no this ain´t gonna be pretty. So I get up and play hymns I actually know for prelude–but then I actually look to see what hymns they wanted me to play for the rest of the meeting and LOL I don´t know any of them…and sooo my brain is totally failing on me along with my Portuguese. So the Irmã leading the music looks at me right before the opening hymn and I´m like, “Eu não sei esse hino.´´ and she´s like ´´tudo bem´´ So I´m sitting there behind the piano as everyone sings acapela lol embarrassing até ó pó. Then the couselor in the bishopric conducting the meeting came up to me and was like ´´what sacrament hymns do you know?“ …Oh great…“Um..this one?“ HA. Except not because I actually don´t really know how to play any of the sacrament hymns. Then I play one hand for the sacrament hymn. Then during the sacrament the coucelor comes up to me AGAIN and is like “What hymns DO you know?“ Ok. “Nearer My God to Thee and We Thank Thee O God For a Prophet.“ Beleza. Só que não because I assumed that the coucelor would announce those hymns in that order–hahaha nope. He announced that we would sing “We Thank Thee O God For a Prophet´´ first as the rest hymn and “Nearer My God to Thee“ for the closing hymn. And to tell the truth I was still thinking about how embarrassing it was that I couldn´t play the first two hymns, so I totally missed that he announced the final two in a different order– so when the rest hymn comes, everyone stands up expecting to sing a happy jubilant song about the prophet and I start playing “Nearer My God to Thee“ Everyone looked really confused, and I was confused and it was a mess haha but then everyone flipped to the right page and sang “Nearer My God to Thee“ standing up…it was weird…
In the moment, I wanted to cry of embarrassment (even though it wasn´t THAT big a deal) but then I remembered a part of this talk “Come what may and love it“ where (I think it was Elder Worthlin..?) it said that to get through hard or embarrassing experiences, sometimes you just have to laugh about it and move forward. And I was thinking about how that´s such a great way we can apply the Atonement–laugh about the stuff you do wrong because really, its alright.
And so now I have a story to tell my posterity about how I ruined a sacrament meeting in Brazil because I didn´t know Portuguese very well hahaha 😛
Love you all! Boa semana para vocês!!
Sister Cox
picture: When you´re doing weekly planning and companion inventory gets a little out-of-hand.
DSCN0210[1]
Leave a Reply

